Settling In

I flew into Chicago on Friday and stepped off the plane into a breezy 75 degree morning. Everyone here is complaining about the humidity and about how the dorms don’t have A/C – I’m just trying not to laugh at them.

My parents flew up with me, and we’ve spent the past two days buying all my dorm necessities, moving things in, and jumping through registration hoops. I’m living with my dear friend Dorian, who’s been busy as an orientation counselor. My course schedule is pretty light this semester on account of all the electives I was interested in were full, but I figured it’s probably not a bad idea to take it easy my first semester. Things are slowly but surely getting settled.

New desk, old friends.

I haven’t had the opportunity to go out into the city at all yet, but I’m hoping to go visit the Field Museum with some friends this evening. What I’ve seen of Chicago so far is absolutely beautiful, and I’ve managed to fall in love with it already. Soon, I’m going to be starting a weekly Shimer newsletter concerned with all the events in the city for that week as a sort of work-study thing. It will be a great way for me to find out for myself about all the fun stuff to go to!

While I already miss Houston and all the people in it whom I love tremendously, I’m also very happy to be here. I didn’t realize until now just how much I’ve been craving academia. It’s kind of strange being around people my own age again, but I can tell that the majority of the kids here are of a mature and unique sort. They’ll probably be a good influence on me.

Keep me updated on the goings on in H-town, and mail me care packages and cookies and stuff. I’ll see you  guys around Thanksgiving.

Love,

Robin

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One thought on “Settling In

Leave a Reply

